Monkey Business

13659101_10155036991238275_4560031140372907880_nI have loved monkeys for as long as I can remember and had only ever seen one when I went to the zoo as a kid. To be honest, one of the reasons why I chose to live in Costa Rica for two month was because I knew there was a very high chance I would have an encounter with these adorable creatures. Since I was living in the middle of the country in a small city, I did not see any monkey action for the first month that I was there. It was not until I began traveling to the beaches and national parks that I began to see more and more. I visited Manuel Antonio National Park where I witnessed so many Capuchin monkeys stealing food from people lounging on the beach and playing with one another in the tree tops; I was in heaven to say the least.

I was able to get pretty close up to get some decent photos and videos, but it was not quite enough for me. It was not until our last morning at our Airbnb in Manuel Antonio, where we found frozen bananas in the fridge and decided to take a chance and leave them out in the deck hoping it would attract something (preferably monkeys). It took only about five minutes until we attracted six different squirrel monkeys onto our deck where they practically climbed all over us to eat the bananas out of our hands! Not only was I able to get up close and personal with monkeys like I had dreamed of, but these critters came swinging right out the jungle and this was not some animal sanctuary or zoo. I do not know if this is too dramatic, but I feel so fortunate that I was able to have this type of experience in Costa Rica because it is honestly something that I will never forget and one of the first stories I tell people when they ask me about my travels there.

